Greater Sudbury's origins can be traced back to Sir John A. MacDonald's plan of connecting a newly formed Canada with a transcontinental rail line. Established in 1883, as part of the westward expansion of the CPR, Sudbury was initially intended to serve as a temporary work camp for railway workers building the line from North Bay through to Sault Ste. Marie.
Soon after this section of the railway was completed in 1884, rich minerals embedded in the geological formation known as the Sudbury Basin were discovered. This discovery was soon followed by mining activity, with the earliest mines establishing in Copper Cliff (1886) and Blezard (1889).
Around this time, in 1887, the CPR developed and registered the Village Plan for Sudbury. This Plan set the fabric for most of what was to become known as Downtown Sudbury. Later Plans, particularly the McNaughton and Dubois subdivisions, would complete this fabric and create the physical relationship between Downtown Sudbury, surrounding neighourhoods and precincts, and Lake Ramsey.
Since those early pioneer days, Greater Sudbury has evolved into a world-class mining centre. Greater Sudbury's mining companies employ approximately 6,000 people and support a 300-company mining supply and service sector cluster that employs a further 10,000 people.
Since the Second World War, the City has diversified significantly and now stands as the regional centre in financial and business services, tourism, health care and research, education and government for Northeast Ontario - an area that stretches from the Quebec border west to the eastern shore of Lake Superior and north to the James and Hudson's Bay coastlines - a market of 555,000.
Click below for more information about the museums of Greater Sudbury
Greater Sudbury Museums